Quality: Work vs. Salary

High salary does not excite me.

On the contrary it is a source of chronic stress if I’m in a line of work that I’m not particularly interested in, or if I’ve been struggling — because I

(1) lack some skills,

(2) am unprepared for the overwhelming tasks, or simply

(3) do not have the natural aptitude required of the position

— to perform my job “well.”

So, under such circumstances, I look at the salary and it reminds me that I MUST produce more output or finish the project earlier than expected. Because I’m paid more. But even without the salary element, if you really love your work you will naturally produce more output and finish the project earlier. Why: Because you’re excited about the results.

Pressure is a good thing. It helps speed up things; it makes you decide quickly and do something. But when the problem lies in my own skills and abilities, pressure endangers my physical, mental, and emotional well-being. Burnout becomes inevitable. This high salary, instead of motivating me to do my job better and be more productive, is actually working against me. Because I either take no interest in the job itself, or simply do not have the right skills demanded of the job, I see my high salary as an overpowering demand to produce more or finish tasks more quickly. It inherently makes me measure what I do against what I receive, and that I must rightly “deserve” it.

I would rather work like I do not need the money.

What should excite me about work is the opportunity to contribute my God-endowed gifts, and experience what the Great Creator experienced in the beginning:

“And God saw every thing that He had made, and, behold, it was very good.”

At the end of the work day, I want to go home happy and content that I did something worthwhile. I cheerfully performed my job and I did it well, plus an extra mile for a stranger. ⓜ

I'd love to hear from you! :-)

